The Friends were established in 2005, as a charitable association whose purpose is to
support and assist the Priaulx Library and its work.
To receive the newsletter, together with news about upcoming talks and lectures, become a Friend of Priaulx Library. (click for membership form).
Major development of the old, very small Harbour was started in 1853, which included the building of the Castle Pier which was intended to protect the southern side of the much-expanded Harbour. This connected the south esplanade with Castle Cornet to the east. The development was to include a retaining wall for the Albert Marina, and a connecting bridge to Castle Cornet at the end the Castle Breakwater, which was authorised in 1854 and completed in 1861. The lighthouse was completed in 1868. The slaughterhouse was then built at the landward side of the pier, and the Victoria Boat Pond, which was later renamed the Model Yacht Pond, was opened in 1887 in time for Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee.
Our Then & Now photographs show the early construction of the pier in the early 1850’s, and a much-changed view from the same spot in 2021
Photos courtesy of Rob Grant.
Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org for further information
The Priaulx Library website is full of fascinating information about the contents of the building and the services its staff provides. Well worth a visit and you can do it online too. Just click on the following link and get transported to a world of old photographs, newspapers and amazing books.